April 19, 2016

Dear Lover,

I love a good goal.

I’m halfway through a 30 day yoga challenge.  My yoga studio started this challenge on April 1st, and I definitely needed something to focus my mind and spend some time outside of my head.  It was perfect timing, and they had a sticker chart, so I signed up.  I’ve LOVED it.  And I think it’s made everyone around me feel better because they know that I’m actually doing something and not just going to bed (although this is what I would like to be doing most days).  

Today you told me how proud you were of me for taking on this challenge and getting to the yoga studio every.single.day this month.  The best part?  You told me that you would celebrate by going to my 30th day with me.  I’ve been dying for you to go to yoga with me, so this is absolutely delightful in my books.  I can’t wait.

You came to the meeting when I was given my one year medallion at AA.  You sat in the crowd and I got to thank you in front of everyone.  You don’t cry often, but you looked a little weepy as you sat in the circle among the many faces I knew so well, and you had never met before.  You told me after that the room is so full of hope, but also so full of sadness.  That pretty much sums up AA.  It also sums up my yoga experience this month.

You also come to the finish line every single time I run a half marathon, and you always get a little weepy when you see me cross because you’re so proud of me and the hard work I’ve put into achieving my goal.  I struggle as I train because sometimes it is just too frustrating.  This is how AA has been, but also how 30 days of yoga has been.  It’s hard, but it’s good.  It’s a good kind of hard.

Our goal together is to have a family.

I am full of hope, but also full of sadness.  And that’s okay.  It’s a good kind of hard, and those seem to be the best finish lines to reach.

xo

Leave a comment